This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Chile

Chile is made up of 15 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Chile. Information on all primary administrative regions in Chile.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Chile.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Chile alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Chile

There are 15 regions in Chile in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Chile
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Santiago Metropolitan Región Metropolitana de Santiago1.6,685,685Santiago Santiago4,837,295
Antofagasta Antofagasta2.530,879Antofagasta Antofagasta309,832
Valparaiso Región de Valparaíso3.-Valparaiso Valparaíso282,448
Araucania Región de la Araucanía4.889,942Temuco Temuco238,129
Tarapaca Región de Tarapacá5.238,950Iquique Iquique227,499
Biobio Región del Biobío6.2,100,494Concepcion Concepción215,413
O'Higgins Región del Libertador General Bernardo O’Higgins7.851,406Rancagua Rancagua212,695
Maule Maule8.955,048Talca Talca197,479
Arica y Parinacota Región de Arica y Parinacota9.213,595Arica Arica185,999
Los Lagos Los Lagos10.767,714Puerto Montt Puerto Montt160,054
Coquimbo Coquimbo11.687,806La Serena La Serena154,521
Los Rios Región de Los Ríos12.364,183Valdivia Valdivia133,419
Atacama Atacama13.284,992Copiapo Copiapó129,280
Magallanes Región de Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena14.155,332Punta Arenas Punta Arenas117,430
Aisen Aysén15.94,271Coihaique Coihaique45,787