This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Chile

Chile is made up of 15 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Chile. Information on all primary administrative regions in Chile.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Chile.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Chile alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Chile

There are 15 regions in Chile in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Chile
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Antofagasta Antofagasta1.530,879Antofagasta Antofagasta309,832
Arica y Parinacota Región de Arica y Parinacota2.213,595Arica Arica185,999
Aisen Aysén3.94,271Coihaique Coihaique45,787
Biobio Región del Biobío4.2,100,494Concepcion Concepción215,413
Atacama Atacama5.284,992Copiapo Copiapó129,280
Tarapaca Región de Tarapacá6.238,950Iquique Iquique227,499
Coquimbo Coquimbo7.687,806La Serena La Serena154,521
Los Lagos Los Lagos8.767,714Puerto Montt Puerto Montt160,054
Magallanes Región de Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena9.155,332Punta Arenas Punta Arenas117,430
O'Higgins Región del Libertador General Bernardo O’Higgins10.851,406Rancagua Rancagua212,695
Santiago Metropolitan Región Metropolitana de Santiago11.6,685,685Santiago Santiago4,837,295
Maule Maule12.955,048Talca Talca197,479
Araucania Región de la Araucanía13.889,942Temuco Temuco238,129
Los Rios Región de Los Ríos14.364,183Valdivia Valdivia133,419
Valparaiso Región de Valparaíso15.-Valparaiso Valparaíso282,448