This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Chile

Chile is made up of 15 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Chile. Information on all primary administrative regions in Chile.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Chile.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Chile alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Chile

There are 15 regions in Chile in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Chile
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Santiago Metropolitan Región Metropolitana de Santiago1.6,685,685Santiago Santiago4,837,295
Biobio Región del Biobío2.2,100,494Concepcion Concepción215,413
Maule Maule3.955,048Talca Talca197,479
Araucania Región de la Araucanía4.889,942Temuco Temuco238,129
O'Higgins Región del Libertador General Bernardo O’Higgins5.851,406Rancagua Rancagua212,695
Los Lagos Los Lagos6.767,714Puerto Montt Puerto Montt160,054
Coquimbo Coquimbo7.687,806La Serena La Serena154,521
Antofagasta Antofagasta8.530,879Antofagasta Antofagasta309,832
Los Rios Región de Los Ríos9.364,183Valdivia Valdivia133,419
Atacama Atacama10.284,992Copiapo Copiapó129,280
Tarapaca Región de Tarapacá11.238,950Iquique Iquique227,499
Arica y Parinacota Región de Arica y Parinacota12.213,595Arica Arica185,999
Magallanes Región de Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena13.155,332Punta Arenas Punta Arenas117,430
Aisen Aysén14.94,271Coihaique Coihaique45,787
Valparaiso Región de Valparaíso15.-Valparaiso Valparaíso282,448